Around the universities and research institutes

Cate Swannell
Med J Aust || doi: 10.5694/mja18.1903C2
Published online: 19 March 2018

Curtin University has awarded Emeritus Professor titles to two members of their Faculty of Health Sciences for their distinguished service to the university. Emeritus Professor Errol Cocks is a Professor of Disability Research, who has an esteemed career spanning 50 years. He has provided visionary services and contributions to improve the lives of people with disabilities. He has worked across Australia and internationally, and delivered innovative leadership in service development, disability theory and research to enable people to achieve citizenship and inclusion in their communities. Emeritus Professor John Mackenzie is a Professor of Tropical Infectious Diseases. He was the founder and Deputy CEO of the Australian Biosecurity Cooperative Research Centre, which was a funded CRC initiative established at Curtin. He was also awarded the decoration of Officer of the Order of Australia for service to microbiology research.

Ben (Willem) Mol has been appointed as Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Monash University and as Consultant Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Monash Health. Professor Mol’s research is focused on the organisation of multi-centric evaluative research in obstetrics, gynaecology and fertility. “My research is focused mainly upon everyday practices—my most important task is the stimulation and innovation of evaluative research in obstetrics, gynaecology and reproductive medicine,” Professor Mol said. After studying medicine at the University of Amsterdam, Professor Mol worked in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the Academic Medical Centre, Amsterdam (AMC). In 1999 he obtained his doctorate with honours at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Amsterdam with his dissertation entitled Evaluating the effectiveness of diagnostic tests: tubal subfertility and ectopic pregnancy. Professor Mol trained as a gynaecologist at the University Medical Centre (Universitair Medisch Centrum) in Utrecht and from 2002 he was a senior researcher in the department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the AMC. From 2003 to 2007, he worked as a gynaecologist-perinatologist at the Maxima Medisch Centrum, in Eindhoven, and between 2007-2013 as Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the AMC in Amsterdam.

Monash Health surgeon Paul Cashin has been appointed as Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor at Monash University where he lectures Year 3 and 5 medical students. Associate Professor Cashin is a senior upper gastrointestinal (GI) surgeon and is Service Director of General Surgery at Monash Health, and Director of Medical Services at Jessie McPherson Private Hospital. His research focuses on the surgical management of benign and malignant upper GI disease. Beyond his teaching and research, Associate Professor Cashin holds a number of leadership positions, including Chair, Monash Health Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee and the Comprehensive Care Committee. He is also Clinical Lead, ICS OG Cancer Optimal Care Pathway Design Committee and an elected Board Member, Australian and New Zealand Gastro-Oesophageal Surgery Association.,-researcher-and-lecturer-receives-academic-promotion

Monash University PhD candidate Dr Edmond Kwan is the recipient of the prestigious Conquer Cancer Foundation Merit Award in recognition of his research into prostate cancer. A medical oncologist, Dr Kwan is a PhD candidate in the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health (SCS). Dr Kwan’s research group— the Prostate Cancer Therapeutics Laboratory—designed a blood test to accurately detect androgen receptor variants AR-Vs. This test can be performed more routinely than tests involving circulating tumour cells. “We found that a significant proportion of these patients with detectable AR-Vs in their blood still benefit from these effective therapies, and therefore we would recommend against clinicians using AR-Vs as a method of choosing ideal treatments for their patients,” Dr Kwan said.

Professor Raina MacIntyre, Dr Anita Heywood, Dr Holly Seale, Abrar Chughtai, Bayzidur Rahman, James Wood and Tony Newall, from the University of NSW have received the Council of Academic Public Health Institutions Australia (CAPHIA) 2017 team award for excellence and innovation in public health team research for personal protective equipment (PPE) research. This award recognises a research team that demonstrates an outstanding level of achievement in public health research. CAPHIA is the peak body that represents all major Australian tertiary education institutions teaching and researching public health. CAPHIA’s mission is to improve the public’s health by advancing public health education, research and service throughout Australia.

  • Cate Swannell



remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Online responses are no longer available. Please refer to our instructions for authors page for more information.