Acute coronary syndromes: consensus recommendations for translating knowledge into action

David B Brieger, Constantine N Aroney, Derek P Chew, Anne-Maree Kelly, Darren L Walters, Carrie L Toohey and Andrew N Boyden
Med J Aust 2010; 192 (12): . || doi: 10.5694/j.1326-5377.2010.tb03706.x
Published online: 21 June 2010

Forge 1 has raised specific concerns about our recent position statement2 on implementing the National Heart Foundation of Australia (NHFA)/Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ) consensus recommendations for managing patients with acute coronary syndromes (ACS).3 In particular, he questions whether providing all patients with equal access to percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) services is truly evidence-based.

  • David B Brieger1
  • Constantine N Aroney2
  • Derek P Chew3
  • Anne-Maree Kelly4
  • Darren L Walters5,6
  • Carrie L Toohey7
  • Andrew N Boyden8

  • 1 Department of Cardiology, Concord Repatriation General Hospital, Sydney, NSW.
  • 2 Holy Spirit Northside Private Hospital, Brisbane, QLD.
  • 3 Southern Adelaide Health Service, Adelaide, SA.
  • 4 Joseph Epstein Centre for Emergency Medicine Research, Western Health, Melbourne, VIC.
  • 5 Prince Charles Hospital, Brisbane, QLD.
  • 6 University of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD.
  • 7 National Heart Foundation of Australia, Brisbane, QLD.
  • 8 National Heart Foundation of Australia, Canberra, ACT.


Competing interests:

The authors are all members of the NHFA ACS Guideline Implementation and Advocacy Working Group. David Brieger has been a member of advisory boards for Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly, AstraZeneca and Boehringer Ingelheim, and has received research grants from Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly, Schering-Plough and Merck Sharp & Dohme. Constantine Aroney has received reimbursement for travel/accommodation expenses from Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly and Medtronic and payment for developing educational presentations from Eli Lilly, Pfizer and The Medicines Company. Derek Chew has been a board member for Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly and AstraZeneca, and has received reimbursement for travel/accommodation expenses from AstraZeneca and fees for expert testimony from Sanofi-Aventis and Eli Lilly. Anne-Maree Kelly has been on advisory boards for Sanofi-Aventis, AstraZeneca and Medical Developments International, and has received reimbursement for travel/accommodation expenses from Radiometer. Darren Walters has received a research fellowship from Medtronic and reimbursement of travel/accommodation expenses from Eli Lilly, AstraZeneca, Medtronic, GlaxoSmithKline, Johnson & Johnson, Universal Biosensors, Boston Scientific and Abbott Australasia, as well as organisations including the American Heart Association, the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and CSANZ. Carrie Toohey is employed by the NHFA and has received institutional funding from CSANZ and the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine. Andrew Boyden is employed by the NHFA.


remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Online responses are no longer available. Please refer to our instructions for authors page for more information.