University Chairs of Radiology

William S C Hare
Med J Aust 2009; 190 (5): . || doi: 10.5694/j.1326-5377.2009.tb02401.x
Published online: 2 March 2009

To the Editor: The University of Sydney recently established a Chair of Radiology and appointed Professor Ming Wang as the first full Professor of Radiology in New South Wales. This long overdue appointment resulted from a bequest of Arthur Parker-Hughes, after whom the Chair is named. Likewise, it was largely through the generosity of Edgar John Rouse that the first university department of radiology in Australia was established at the University of Melbourne in 1965; I was appointed Foundation Professor. Considering the role of radiology in modern medicine, it is remarkable that to date in Australia, establishing Chairs of Radiology depends largely on private sponsorship.

  • Radiology Department, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, VIC.


  • 1. Hare WSC. Radiology at the University of Melbourne: a history from Roentgen to the year 2000. Melbourne: BPA Digital, 2004: 22-23.


remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Online responses are no longer available. Please refer to our instructions for authors page for more information.