Acute coronary syndromes: consensus recommendations for translating knowledge into action

David B Brieger, Derek Chew, Constantine Aroney, Phil Aylward, Darren Walters, Anne-Maree Kelly and Andrew Boyden
Med J Aust 2010; 193 (9): . || doi: 10.5694/j.1326-5377.2010.tb04046.x
Published online: 1 November 2010

In reply: We thank Forge for his continued and welcome contribution to this debate.

  • David B Brieger1
  • Derek Chew2
  • Constantine Aroney3
  • Phil Aylward2,4
  • Darren Walters5
  • Anne-Maree Kelly6
  • Andrew Boyden7

  • 1 Coronary Care and Coronary Interventions, Concord Repatriation General Hospital, Sydney, NSW.
  • 2 Southern Adelaide Health Service, Adelaide, SA.
  • 3 Holy Spirit Northside Private Hospital, Brisbane, QLD.
  • 4 Flinders Medical Centre, Adelaide, SA.
  • 5 Prince Charles Hospital, Brisbane, QLD.
  • 6 Joseph Epstein Centre for Emergency Medicine Research, Western Health, Melbourne, VIC.
  • 7 National Heart Foundation of Australia, Canberra, ACT.


Competing interests:

The authors are all members of the NHFA ACS Guideline Implementation and Advocacy Working Group. David Brieger has been a member of advisory boards for Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly, AstraZeneca and Boehringer Ingelheim, and has received research grants from Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly, Schering-Plough and Merck Sharp & Dohme. Derek Chew has been a board member for Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly and AstraZeneca, and has received reimbursement for travel/accommodation expenses from AstraZeneca and fees for expert testimony from Sanofi-Aventis and Eli Lilly. Constantine Aroney has received reimbursement for travel/accommodation expenses from Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly and Medtronic and payment for developing educational presentations from Eli Lilly, Pfizer and The Medicines Company. Darren Walters has received a research fellowship from Medtronic and reimbursement of travel/accommodation expenses from Eli Lilly, AstraZeneca, Medtronic, GlaxoSmithKline, Johnson and Johnson, Universal Biosensors, Boston Scientific and Abbott Australasia, as well as organisations including the American Heart Association, the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and CSANZ. Philip Aylward has received research honoraria, speaker fees or travel assistance from TIMI Group (Harvard University), VIGOUR Group (Duke University), Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Eli Lilly, Boehringer Ingelheim and Sanofi-Aventis, and is a member of advisory boards to AstraZeneca, Sanofi-Aventis, Eli Lilly, CSL, Boehringer Ingelheim, and Pfizer. Anne-Maree Kelly has been on advisory boards for Sanofi-Aventis, AstraZeneca and Medical Developments International, and has received reimbursement for travel/accommodation expenses from Radiometer.


remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Online responses are no longer available. Please refer to our instructions for authors page for more information.