Around the universities and research institutes

Med J Aust || doi: 10.5694/mja17.0611C2
Published online: 6 November 2017

The recipients of Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning, through the Australian Awards for University Teaching have been announced and health and medical educators have featured heavily. From the Australian National University, Professor Emily Banks was cited for outstanding leadership within epidemiology and public health and for the development of an innovative team and systems-based approach to student supervision. From Charles Sturt University, Dr Louise Pemberton was cited for facilitating success in biomedical science through the Science Learner Engagement with Great Outcomes creative learning activities. From the University of NSW, Dr Louisa Smith was cited for the design, development and implementation of research-led accessible and innovative teaching and learning resources in the field of disability studies. From the University of Sydney, the Health Collaboration Challenge Team was cited for innovation in interprofessional learning for health students using videography and peer assessment. From Flinders University, Flinders NT was cited for facilitating quality workplace-based supervision practice for health professionals in remote locations through development and provision of context-responsive inter-professional training and peer review resources. From the University of WA, Associate Professor Denese Playford was cited for developing and leading innovative medical education programs using transformative learning experiences to inspire and prepare students to serve rural and disadvantaged people. From Curtin University, Associate Professor Janet Beilby was cited for the creation of internationally recognised, innovative, work-integrated learning resources to ensure industry-ready health science graduates, capable of delivering world-class client care. From Bond University, Assistant Professor Christian Moro was cited for developing innovative technology-enhanced curriculum, experiential visualisation tools and resources that positively impact medical and biomedical students’ learning and application of physiology and anatomy. From the Queensland University of Technology, Professor Fiona Naumann was cited for sustained leadership in transitioning Exercise Physiology towards competency-based education through curriculum innovation, scholarly inquiry and strategic collaborations with the profession and universities. From the University of Queensland, Dr Lisa Fitzgerald was cited for challenging and supporting public health students through a learning journey to gain a deeper understanding of the social determinants of health. From Monash University, Dr Julia Choate was cited for developing, implementing and evaluating student-centred active learning strategies that engage biomedical, medical, nutrition and science undergraduates and enhance their learning of physiology. From the University of Melbourne, Dr Jason Ivanusic was cited for leadership in anatomy teaching that provides innovative, engaging and internationalised learning experiences for students of biomedical sciences. Also from the University of Melbourne, Ms Shawana Andrews was cited demonstrating sustained excellence in developing an Indigenised curriculum as a lecturer in Indigenous health within the health sciences.

Professor Jennifer Martin, director of Griffith University’s Institute for Drug Discovery has been awarded Bragg Membership of the Royal Institution of Australia at a ceremony attended by Prince Andrew, the Duke of York. Professor Martin’s research focuses on protein structure and function in health and disease and the application of structure-based approaches to the design and development of new drugs. Professor Martin has previously been awarded the inaugural ARC Australian Laureate Fellowship, the ASBMB Roche Medal, the Queensland Smart Women Smart State Research Scientist Award, and the Women in Biotech Outstanding Achievement Award. She is the President of the Asian Crystallography Association, a former President of the Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand, and a former chair of the National Committee for Crystallography of the Australian Academy of Science. Professor Martin was a Foundation Member of the Australian Academy of Science’s Science in Australia Gender Equity committee, charged with addressing gender equity in STEMM.



remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Online responses are no longer available. Please refer to our instructions for authors page for more information.