Around the universities and research institutes

doi: 10.5694/mja17.1906C2

On 22 May, the Australian Academy of Science announced the election of 21 new fellows, seven of them in medical and health fields. They are: Professor Ian Chubb, former vice-chancellor of the Australian National University (2001-2011) and former Chief Scientist of Australia (2011-2016), for significant contributions to improving the infrastructure for scientific research and training and for being conspicuous in raising the public profile of science in the media; Professor Philip Hugenholtz, a microbiologist from the University of Queensland, who has made landmark contributions in the field of culture-independent analysis of micro-organisms and whose contributions have raised awareness of the human microbiome and its role in health and disease; Professor Mark Smyth, an immunologist from the QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute, for his significant contributions to tumour immunology, paving the way for effective immunotherapy of cancer, beginning with immune checkpoint inhibitor drugs; Professor Lois Salamonsen, from the Hudson Institute of Medical Research, for her transformative contributions to human fertility/infertility related to the uterus, including delivering new translational concepts to alleviate uterine infertility without IVF; Professor Melissa Little, from the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, for her research on kidney development and her pioneering studies into renal regeneration, opening the door to kidney disease modelling, drug screening and the bioengineering of replacement kidney tissue; Professor Jozef Gécz, a human molecular geneticist from the University of Adelaide, for his contributions to the genetics of childhood onset neurological disorders, including intellectual disabilities, epilepsies, autisms and cerebral palsies, including identifying the first gene for non-syndromic intellectual disability, the FMR2 gene, in 1994 and more than 100 other genes for various forms of neurodevelopmental disabilities; and, Professor David Gardner, an embryologist from the University of Melbourne, whose basic animal research laid the foundation for major clinical developments in human IVF, resulting in significant increases in human pregnancy rates.

Please login with your free MJA account to view this article in full

  • Swannell



remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Responses are now closed for this article.